Book Reviews

Book Review: Dark Touch by Aimee L. Salter

28174019

Title: Dark Touch

Author: Aimee L. Salter

Pages: 310

Format: ebook  (Netgalley)

Goodreads Blurb: 

Tully isn’t alone in her skin. Whenever she touches someone, they feel everything she feels. All her ugliness. All her darkness. All her pain.

The only thing she wants is to be left alone—and to finally get out of her small Oregon town.

But then she meets Chris. He’s everything she’s not. Light. Trusting. Innocent. And he wants Tully.

Tully knows she should spare him the heartache of being with her. But when he touches her, she’s not sure she’ll have the strength to push him away…

From the author of Every Ugly Word comes a poignant, emotionally raw story about the violence that plays out behind closed doors and the all-consuming passion of first love.

My Thoughts: 

Rating: 3.7

I didn’t know what to expect, but I ended up really enjoying Tully’s story.

Characters:

    In the beginning, Tully was a mess.  She took pills to numb herself and forget the pain. She was an outcast and she didn’t let people in.  This all sounds pretty negative and it is, but it didn’t stop me from liking Tully, for the most part. She did some very stupid things but they only served to make her an even more complex.

Chris was a heartwarming hero.  He tried to understand her and be there for her despite the mess the Tully was. He was perfect, a little too perfect but he was exactly what Tully needed.  In many ways, I felt like the usual perfect girl and bad boy roles were reversed.  I really liked this because I’m tired of the good girl meets bad boy story line.

    The story centers around Tully and her personal  journey, so the book is not action packed or extremely fast paced.  At some points, I felt my attention drifting but something incredibly cute or intense would happen and I’d be back 100 percent.  Seriously, there were so many parts where I just found myself smiling.  This book just made me happy.  Don’t let this deceive you, though, it really messed with my emotions. It wasn’t all sweetness and fluff, which I really appreciated.  This book deals with a lot of dark subjects.  I loved the way that Aimee L. Salter deals with them.  She doesn’t sugar coat,  but things never felt overwhelmed.

    The story, like many have said, could have worked without the supernatural aspect.  I enjoyed it but I expected her dark touch to play a bigger part in the story’s plot, especially because the book is title:  Dark Touch.

     I like the ending.  It gives you enough to be satisfying but it’s left open to a certain degree. You get the feeling that it’s not going to be easy but things are going to be okay.

   Overall, I really enjoyed this book.  I’d definitely recommend it. It’s one of those books that I can see myself rereading in the future.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Dark Touch by Aimee L. Salter

  1. I reviewed a copy of this book from NetGalley a few months ago and loved it. I also thought her touch would have more to do with the story. But I liked how hard topics were addressed in this book. I really felt for her character. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you, I’ll look for yours. cx Same, especially because of the blurb, it kind of makes you think it’s going to be very focused on her touch. But I loved it. despite the dark subjects, I still fill like it was very sweet, which is weird haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

