Book Reviews

Book Review: Half-blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

Title: Half-Blood  9680718

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Series: Covenant #1

Goodreads Blurb:
The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.
Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is.

If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

Rating: 4

My thoughts:

    Before I read Half-Blood, I thought I was going to have trouble with all its similarities with Vampire Academy. I was surprised when they didn’t bother me that much.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t condone plagiarism, but the book does move away from the Vampire Academy story Line.  I’m on Apollyon right now and the series has taken a very unique road.  Like most of Armentrout’s books, it’s fast-paced and the writing is highly enjoyable.

    I loved the characters.  Alex was sarcastic, reckless and full of life.  She was always throwing herself into stupid situations. Her determination and loyalty towards her mom was moving. Looking back, she really has grown a lot as a person.  She is the kind of character that really grows on you.

    Aiden is book boyfriend material.  He is unlike any other hero Armentrout has written.  He is sweet and caring and NOT a jerk.   He volunteers to mentor Alex to catch her up to her peers.  Their relationship is very cute.  They both know that it’s impossible and wrong for a dozen of reasons but they can’t help but fall for each other. I love where their relationship is headed in Apollyon.

    Seth, I have so many mix feelings towards him.  He reminds of Daemon with his flirty personality and witty lines.  All I can say is that he is a very complex character.  Despite his flaws, I can’t help but care about him.

I have to talk about Caleb because he is just awesome.   He is such a good friend and he says the most hilarious things.  The first thing he tells Alex when he sees her for the first in forever is:

“You better have had a baby, killed someone, or slept with a pure. Those are your three options. Anything less is unsuitable.”

    The world building and all the vocabulary confused me, but towards the end of the first book, I had a good understanding of the world. Half-blood is narrated from Alex’s point of view. I liked it, but I wish we could get a whole book in Aiden pov.  I’ve read some of the extras from his pov, and they make my day.

    Another thing I really enjoyed were the references to pop culture.  It’s not something that you see often in books and it just adds something extra.

Favorite Quotes:

“I was gonna be super pissed in the afterlife if I died a virgin in this crap hole.”- Alex

“Alex, you’re starting to worry me. Insult me… or something.”-Seth

“Since the night I saw you in Georgia, you’ve been under my skin.  You got inside me. became a part of me.”-Aiden

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Half-blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

    1. I love the lux series, I read it a couple months ago and I loved it. Man, I miss Katy and Daemon 😍. I really want to check out her other books too, see what other gem she has, haha

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks you! I loved the lux series. It was a rollercoaster of emotions, be patient with Daemon ;). He makes up for his behavior, haha. Honestly, jennifer l Armentrout has become an auto buy for me. hopefully, you enjoy her books☺

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I don’t like that she’s gotten away with her plagiarism here, I really loved Vampire Academy so it’s pretty distasteful that she’s leveraged that book’s success to her benefit.

    But your review has intrigued me, I might have to give this a go just to see what it’s like. The Caleb character sounds great and he doesn’t seem to have a VA analogue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Vampire Academy too. cx that’s why I was really hesitant with this book but this has very different feels to it than VA. You should give it a try. Trust me after the first one, it takes a very different directions😃

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

